Day 16: Dialogue

STOP! Read Day 15 FIRST!!

Second day of Winter, Year 2

The Winter Festival is in town!

Miki: Can we go?

…maybe if you’re very, VERY good. VERY GOOD.

The current state of the house. The main thing that’s changed is the amount of furniture in the “storage” section, currently inaccessible from the rest of the house.

Good morning, Miki!

Miki: Two minutes. Can I have TWO MINUTES of privacy?!

Hmmmm… No.

Miki: Well, this is a great start to the day.

>.<

And with that fortuitous sign, Miki officially starts her day of dumpster diving.

I’ll admit, you’re especially cute in Winter.

Miki: Really?! 😀

Yes. Now get in the dumpster.

Miki: Winter’s my new favorite season!

What was your favorite before?

Miki: …none of ’em, really. Bad experiences and all that.

Ah.

One small step for man!

Miki: You’re too late to use that!

DX

Happy 50th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 Mission! AKA First Man on the Moon Day! 😀

Miki: Smells like tacos today! 😀

I’m fairly certain that’s NOT tacos.

Miki: How certain?

Like…89% certain.

Miki: *digging deeper than ever before* I found a taco! Hah! …oh. I don’t think this dumpster’s been emptied in quite a while.  Like…since the Taco Festival last summer.

*Watcher goes green*

Miki: Hey! There’s something under all these tacos!

A wash of green fumes arises from the open dumpster.

Ewww! That reeks! I’ll be over here.

Miki: Don’t abandon me! D:

Fine. But this is as close as I get.

Miki: Can’t you at least give me a hand?! I found something big!

Unfortunately, no. I’m incorporeal. 😦

A bed?! Of COURSE it’s right after we buy you one! >.<

Miki: A bed?! Wooo! Go me! 😀

It’s a pretty good haul today, including two Basics (a bed and another bookshelf).

Furniture: 1 dryer, 1 bookshelf (BASIC), 2 grills, 1 bed (BASIC), 2 rugs, 1 trashcan, 1 décor item, 1 soccer ball, and 2 kicky sacks.

Collectibles: 2 gems, 1 firefly, 2 butterflies, and 2 beetles.

Miki still hasn’t dug out any kind of sink or bathroom appliance. I’m starting to think you can’t dumpster dive those.

Miki: Why am I here again?

>.< Just pick up the gems.

Miki: Oh! Right!

Miki: Geeeeeeeeems!

Miki: Now what?

Take them to the elixir shop! You dum-dum.

Miki: Oh. Right.

*shakes incorporeal head*

Miki: Starvation! Imminent!

Stop being so dramatic.

Miki: But! I haven’t eaten all day!

Oh, fudge biscuits! O_O Cut gems, then we’ll get dinner!

Miki: You think I can eat gem dust?

…better not. >.>

Miki: So tasty looking.

Don’t even think about it! 😡

Miki: 😦

Miki: I always forget how cool this thing is! *immediately wishes for gem cutting machine AGAIN*

Miki: That part’s new!

Miki: Oh. I get why you wanted me to cut gems tonight.

Oh, do you now.

Miki: Dude! I think this thing is radioactive!

Shhhhh! >.>

Miki: Ooo! Light show!

Mind the laser. Your eyes are pretty enough as is.

Woo! You’ve cut enough gems to get the plumbob shape!

Miki: Woah! That’s a really old religious symbol!

…what?

Miki: I was reading this article in the paper about how the plumbob shape has connections to old myths about gods and stuff.

…sure. >.>

Miki: Sure is pretty!

Miki: Be cool, Miki. Be cool.

Just don’t yell at her and you’ll do fine.

Ruby: Oh fuck. You again.

Miki: I don’t want any trouble, just sell my stuff.

Ruby: If it’ll get you out of my shop faster, fine.

That is a truly glorious sight! 😀

Ruby: Fine. It’s on the shelves.

Ruby: Now get out.

Miki: Yep, yep! I got it! I was on my way to get food anyway.

Miki: Hey, actually…can I buy food here?

Ruby: Your stench is gonna haunt my dreams, isn’t it.

Miki: Please! I’m. So. Hungry!

Ruby: Oh my Watcher, get out!

And so Miki trundles back home for something to nom on and a bed to collapse in.

Miki: I have been STARVING ALL DAY!

Keep you knickers on! We’re home and there’s food in the fridge! 😡

Miki: Oh, thank WATCHER!

Good. You do that…don’t burn the house down.

Miki: I may be tired, but I’m not stupid. Salad’s healthy and safe.

Miki: You know, with all the salad I eat, maybe I should start gardening again. You know. Maybe?

…go to sleep. We’ll talk about this another day. A day I feel less guilty. >.<

Sometimes life is like a box of chocolates. A bit bitter. A little sweet. And you might never know what you’re going to get next.

But most often, life is like trash.

A collective pile of garbage that, depending on who you are, is something you wipe off your shoe…

…or another man’s treasure.

And remember, just because it’s something you would throw out, doesn’t mean that something, someday, won’t grow in it.

Of course, it’ll take care and real effort.

To turn that pile of garbage that is your life into something meaningful.

Like mastering any skill, it will take time and dedication.

And there will be moments where you won’t be able to see just what it is that you’re building up.

But eventually, everything will light up and make sense. Wishes coming true and dreams becoming reality, things like that.

But to reach your star from where you are right now, you’re going to have to take a more mundane path.

So eat your veggies.

Really apply yourself. And you’ll get there.

From where you’re at…

…to where you’re going.

People say that life is a journey. A road. Some kind of path that you progress down.

That’s such a linear way of thinking about it.

Your life is a story. It hasn’t been proof-read. And it’s written in fits and starts, often out of order. But it’s funny and sad, eye-rollingly stupid and awe inspiring.

Your life is extraordinary. So go live it.

# Words: 1,087
# Images: 62

SimNaNo 2019
Total Words: 19,436
Total Images: 1,241

I feel like I should apologize for this traipsing through dreams and semi-philosophical ramblings. What can I say? I was inspired so I wrote it. I like figuring out a story strung together from shots of a sim dreaming about random stuff. It’s a challenge to make something cohesive. But this time I felt it was more appropriate to go a more “deep” or “philosophical” route. I felt it tied in nicer to the rest of the chapter.

But what do you think about these experimental dream sequence…thingies? Do you like this kind of thing? Is it boring? Choppy? Interesting?

6 thoughts on “Day 16: Dialogue”

  1. Great job finding a bed! I keep hoping Bobbie will find one, but so far no such luck. I love your dream ramblings. 🙂 I actually started watching Bobbie’s dreams more since I started reading this blog. LOVE IT!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's chat!